Translating Pre-Clinical Research to Clinical Patient Care™



2022 -
Tim Garrett, PhD
University of Florida College of Medicine
Dr. Garrett has over 20 years of experience in the field of mass spectrometry spanning both instrument and application development. He received his PhD from the University of Florida, under Dr. Richard A. Yost, working on the first imaging mass spectrometry-based ion trap instrument. He has also developed MALDI-based approaches to analyze proteins in bacteria and small molecules in tissue specimens. His current interests include the translation of LC-HRMS, MALDI, DESI and LMJSSP in metabolomics to clinical diagnostics. He is an Associate Professor in the Department of Pathology at the University of Florida, and an Associate Director for the Southeast Center for Integrated Metabolomics (SECIM).

2022 -
Kara Lynch, PhD, DABCC
University of California San Francisco
Dr. Kara Lynch is a Professor of Laboratory Medicine at the University of California San Francisco, Co-Director of the Core Laboratory at Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and Chemistry Director at UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital Oakland. She is the co-director of the COMACC-accredited Clinical Chemistry Fellowship Program at UCSF. Her laboratory conducts studies aimed at identifying and quantifying endogenous and exogenous small molecules in biological specimens using novel diagnostic technologies, such as high resolution mass spectrometry, ion mobility mass spectrometry, ambient ionization mass spectrometry and biolayer interferometry. Her lab is involved in translational research studies evaluating the clinical utility of novel biomarkers or biomarker panels to diagnosis, treat and monitor disease. The methods developed in her laboratory are used to investigate perturbations in metabolic pathways caused by disease and drug use and translate the results into information that can be used in clinical practice.

Past Editors-in-Chief

2016 - 2022
Alan Rockwood, PhD, DABCC
University of Utah, School of Medicine

2016 - 2020
Prof. Dr. med. Michael Vogeser
University Hospital, LMU Munich