Improving patient outcomes by overcoming the challenges
of implementing high value tests in the clinical lab



Help Us Reach Our Educational Support Goal of $40,000
Educational Travel Grants supported in part by:

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee is assembled to review abstract submissions for the annual conference. This includes reviewing abstract submissions, suggesting plenary speakers, recruiting researchers to solicit abstracts for submission to the conference and identifying emerging topics of interest. The topics outlined below are the dominant topics addressed the MSACL conferences. MSACL encourages submissions in all areas of clinical mass spectrometry and evaluates abstracts that do not fall in the main topical categories listed below by a group composed of the Chair and the Topic Leads.


David Herold, MD, PhD
UCSD/VA Medical Center, San Diego


Dan Holmes, MD (Lead)
St. Paul's Hospital

Michael Chen, MD
McGill University

Shannon Haymond, PhD
Ann and Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago, Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine

Brian Rappold,
Essential Testing


Rick Yost, PhD (Lead)
University of Florida

Timothy Garrett, PhD
University of Florida

Gary Patti, PhD
Washington University


Susan Butler-Wu, PhD (Lead)
University of Southern California

Carey-Ann Burnham, PhD
Washington University

Pieter Dorrestein, PhD
University of California, San Diego

Nathan Ledeboer, PhD
Medical College of Wisconsin

Vanessa Phelan, PhD
University of Colorado

Practical Training

Rob Fitzgerald, PhD (Lead)
University of California, San Diego

Judy Stone, PhD
University of California, San Diego


Cory Bystrom , PhD (Lead)
Cleveland Heart Lab

Mari DeMarco, PhD
The University of British Columbia

Michael Lassman, PhD

Steve Master, MD, PhD
Weill Cornell Medical College

Jennifer van Eyk, PhD

Regulations & Standards

Julianne Botelho, PhD (Lead)

Hubert Vesper, PhD

Victoria Zhang, PhD
University of Rochester

Tissue Imaging

Livia Eberlin, PhD (Lead)
University of Texas at Austin

Ron Heeren, Prof. Dr.
Maastricht University

Jeff Spraggins, PhD
Vanderbilt University

Toxicology / TDM / Pain

Kara Lynch, PhD (Lead)
University of California, San Francisco

Jennifer Colby, PhD

Mark Marzinke, PhD
Johns Hopkins University